Summary Analysis Review of Margot Lee Shetterly s Hidden Figures by Instaread

Summary  Analysis   Review of Margot Lee Shetterly   s Hidden Figures by Instaread Author Instaread
ISBN-10 9781683785316
Release 2016-10-11
Pages 40
Download Link Click Here

Summary, Analysis & Review of Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures by Instaread Preview: Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly is a history of black women who were mathematicians and engineers in twentieth-century aeronautics and space programs. It focuses particularly on black women who served as human computers as they performed calculations at Langley Air Force Base in Virginia during and after World War II. During the war, the United States was desperate for mathematicians and engineers to work in aeronautics. With many men fighting in the war, women took on professional jobs. A number of black women applied for positions at Langley. Among them was Dorothy Vaughan, who had excelled in mathematics as a young woman and had then gone into teaching. Pay in segregated schools was much less than Vaughan could make as a human computer performing calculations for engineers. So she changed careers… PLEASE NOTE: This is a Summary, Analysis & Review of the book and NOT the original book. Inside this Summary, Analysis & Review of Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures by Instaread · Overview of the Book · Important People · Key Takeaways · Analysis of Key Takeaways About the Author With Instaread, you can get the key takeaways, summary and analysis of a book in 15 minutes. We read every chapter, identify the key takeaways and analyze them for your convenience. Visit our website at instaread.co.



Summary Analysis Review of Margot Lee Shetterly s Hidden Figures by Instaread

Summary  Analysis   Review of Margot Lee Shetterly s Hidden Figures by Instaread Author Instaread Summaries
ISBN-10 1683785207
Release 2016-10-07
Pages 34
Download Link Click Here

Summary, Analysis & Review of Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures by Instaread Preview: Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly is a history of black women who were mathematicians and engineers in twentieth-century aeronautics and space programs. It focuses particularly on black women who served as human computers as they performed calculations at Langley Air Force Base in Virginia during and after World War II. During the war, the United States was desperate for mathematicians and engineers to work in aeronautics. With many men fighting in the war, women took on professional jobs. A number of black women applied for positions at Langley. Among them was Dorothy Vaughan, who had excelled in mathematics as a young woman and had then gone into teaching. Pay in segregated schools was much less than Vaughan could make as a human computer performing calculations for engineers. So she changed careers... PLEASE NOTE: This is a Summary, Analysis & Review of the book and NOT the original book. Inside this Summary, Analysis & Review of Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures by Instaread Overview of the Book Important People Key Takeaways Analysis of Key Takeaways About the Author With Instaread, you can get the key takeaways, summary and analysis of a book in 15 minutes. We read every chapter, identify the key takeaways and analyze them for your convenience. Visit our website at instaread.co.



Hidden Figures Teaching Guide

Hidden Figures Teaching Guide Author Margot Lee Shetterly
ISBN-10 9780062696250
Release 2017-04-18
Pages
Download Link Click Here

The #1 New York Times bestseller The phenomenal true story of the black female mathematicians at NASA whose calculations helped fuel some of America’s greatest achievements in space. Soon to be a major motion picture starring Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, Janelle Monae, Kirsten Dunst, and Kevin Costner. Before John Glenn orbited the earth, or Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a group of dedicated female mathematicians known as “human computers” used pencils, slide rules and adding machines to calculate the numbers that would launch rockets, and astronauts, into space. Among these problem-solvers were a group of exceptionally talented African American women, some of the brightest minds of their generation. Originally relegated to teaching math in the South’s segregated public schools, they were called into service during the labor shortages of World War II, when America’s aeronautics industry was in dire need of anyone who had the right stuff. Suddenly, these overlooked math whizzes had a shot at jobs worthy of their skills, and they answered Uncle Sam’s call, moving to Hampton, Virginia and the fascinating, high-energy world of the Langley Memorial Aeronautical Laboratory. Even as Virginia’s Jim Crow laws required them to be segregated from their white counterparts, the women of Langley’s all-black “West Computing” group helped America achieve one of the things it desired most: a decisive victory over the Soviet Union in the Cold War, and complete domination of the heavens. Starting in World War II and moving through to the Cold War, the Civil Rights Movement and the Space Race, Hidden Figures follows the interwoven accounts of Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson and Christine Darden, four African American women who participated in some of NASA’s greatest successes. It chronicles their careers over nearly three decades they faced challenges, forged alliances and used their intellect to change their own lives, and their country’s future.



Queen Sugar

Queen Sugar Author Natalie Baszile
ISBN-10 9780698151543
Release 2014-02-06
Pages 384
Download Link Click Here

The inspiration for the acclaimed OWN TV series produced by Oprah Winfrey and Ava DuVernay, returning for season two on June 20th “Smart and heartfelt and highly recommended.” —Karen Joy Fowler, author of The Jane Austen Book Club Readers, booksellers, and critics alike are embracing Queen Sugar and cheering for its heroine, Charley Bordelon, an African American woman and single mother struggling to build a new life amid the complexities of the contemporary South. When Charley unexpectedly inherits eight hundred acres of sugarcane land, she and her eleven-year-old daughter say goodbye to smoggy Los Angeles and head to Louisiana. She soon learns, however, that cane farming is always going to be a white man’s business. As the sweltering summer unfolds, Charley struggles to balance the overwhelming challenges of a farm in decline with the demands of family and the startling desires of her own heart.



Kingston Buttercup

Kingston Buttercup Author Ann-Margaret Lim
ISBN-10 1845233301
Release 2016-07-11
Pages 72
Download Link Click Here

Jamaican poet, Ann Margaret Lim, follows her critically acclaimed debut collection, The Festival of Wild Orchid, with an exciting new volume, Kingston Buttercup, a work of fierce honesty, social awareness and lyric complexity. Bocas Poetry Prize winner, Loretta Collins Klobah, writes: "In Kingston Buttercup, her marvelous second book, Ann-Margaret Lim's fresh, honest, and tenderly-fierce perspective comes through in highly readable lyric poems."



The Thibodaux Massacre

The Thibodaux Massacre Author John DeSantis
ISBN-10 9781439658673
Release 2016-11-14
Pages 176
Download Link Click Here

On November 23, 1887, white vigilantes gunned down unarmed black laborers and their families during a spree lasting more than two hours. The violence erupted due to strikes on Louisiana sugar cane plantations. Fear, rumor and white supremacist ideals clashed with an unprecedented labor action to create an epic tragedy. A future member of the U.S. House of Representatives was among the leaders of a mob that routed black men from houses and forced them to a stretch of railroad track, ordering them to run for their lives before gunning them down. According to a witness, the guns firing in the black neighborhoods sounded like a battle. Author and award-winning reporter John DeSantis uses correspondence, interviews and federal records to detail this harrowing true story.



Miss Leavitt s Stars

Miss Leavitt s Stars Author George Johnson
ISBN-10 0393051285
Release 2005
Pages 162
Download Link Click Here

Recounts the story of Radcliffe-educated Henrietta Swan Leavitt, who in the face of ill health and progressing hearing loss discovered a new law that enabled astronomers to use variable stars in order to measure the universe, a finding that solved a key scientific mystery and enabled important breakthroughs. 30,000 first printing.



Danny Dollar Millionaire Extraordinaire

Danny Dollar Millionaire Extraordinaire Author Ty Allan Jackson
ISBN-10 0615395171
Release 2010-11-01
Pages 102
Download Link Click Here

11 year old Danny Dollar in his quest to become a millionaire, opens a lemonade stand, only to have to sabatoged by the local bullies.



The Rainbow Comes and Goes

The Rainbow Comes and Goes Author Anderson Cooper
ISBN-10 9780062674593
Release 2017-01-31
Pages 320
Download Link Click Here

Though Anderson Cooper has always considered himself close to his mother, his intensely busy career as a journalist for CNN and CBS affords him little time to spend with her. After she suffers a brief but serious illness at the age of ninety-one, they resolve to change their relationship by beginning a year-long conversation unlike any they had ever had before. The result is a correspondence of surprising honesty and depth in which they discuss their lives, the things that matter to them, and what they still want to learn about each other. Both a son’s love letter to his mother and an unconventional mom’s life lessons for her grown son, The Rainbow Comes and Goes offers a rare window into their close relationship and fascinating life stories, including their tragedies and triumphs. In these often humorous and moving exchanges, they share their most private thoughts and the hard-earned truths they’ve learned along the way. In their words their distinctive personalities shine through—Anderson’s journalistic outlook on the world is a sharp contrast to his mother’s idealism and unwavering optimism. An appealing memoir with inspirational advice, The Rainbow Comes and Goes is a beautiful and affectionate celebration of the universal bond between a parent and a child, and a thoughtful reflection on life, reminding us of the precious insight that remains to be shared, no matter our age.



I Thought It Was Just Me but it isn t

I Thought It Was Just Me  but it isn t Author Brené Brown
ISBN-10 1440622221
Release 2007-02-01
Pages 336
Download Link Click Here

Researcher, thought leader, and New York Times bestselling author Brené Brown offers a liberating study on the importance of our imperfections—both to our relationships and to our own sense of self The quest for perfection is exhausting and unrelenting. There is a constant barrage of social expectations that teach us that being imperfect is synonymous with being inadequate. Everywhere we turn, there are messages that tell us who, what and how we’re supposed to be. So, we learn to hide our struggles and protect ourselves from shame, judgment, criticism and blame by seeking safety in pretending and perfection. Dr. Brené Brown, Ph.D., LMSW, is the leading authority on the power of vulnerability, and has inspired thousands through her top-selling books Daring Greatly, Rising Strong, and The Gifts of Imperfection, her wildly popular TEDx talks, and a PBS special. Based on seven years of her ground-breaking research and hundreds of interviews, I Thought It Was Just Me shines a long-overdue light on an important truth: Our imperfections are what connect us to each other and to our humanity. Our vulnerabilities are not weaknesses; they are powerful reminders to keep our hearts and minds open to the reality that we’re all in this together. Dr. Brown writes, “We need our lives back. It’s time to reclaim the gifts of imperfection—the courage to be real, the compassion we need to love ourselves and others, and the connection that gives true purpose and meaning to life. These are the gifts that bring love, laughter, gratitude, empathy and joy into our lives.” From the Trade Paperback edition.



Killing Jesus

Killing Jesus Author Bill O'Reilly
ISBN-10 9780805098556
Release 2013-09-24
Pages 304
Download Link Click Here

Millions of readers have thrilled to bestselling authors Bill O'Reilly and historian Martin Dugard's Killing Kennedy and Killing Lincoln, page-turning works of nonfiction that have changed the way we read history. Now the anchor of The O'Reilly Factor details the events leading up to the murder of the most influential man in history: Jesus of Nazareth. Nearly two thousand years after this beloved and controversial young revolutionary was brutally killed by Roman soldiers, more than 2.2 billion human beings attempt to follow his teachings and believe he is God. Killing Jesus will take readers inside Jesus's life, recounting the seismic political and historical events that made his death inevitable - and changed the world forever.



Always Hungry

Always Hungry Author David S. Ludwig
ISBN-10 9781409158868
Release 2016-01-07
Pages 320
Download Link Click Here

ALWAYS HUNGRY will change everything readers ever thought about weight loss, diet, and health, and show us how to lose weight without counting the calories or feeling hungry. ALWAYS HUNGRY? will be both a relief and a revelation to many who struggle with weight. We're not getting fat because we're overeating; we're overeating because we're getting fat. In other words, what makes us constantly hungry, overweight, and undernourished is not a lack of will power, but a biological reaction to our present-day diet and lifestyle. Our fat cells are hoarding the nutrients from the food we eat instead of releasing them into the bloodstream to be used, triggering a starvation response that sets us up for failure: if we eat more, we'll gain weight; if we eat less, we'll slow our metabolism down and (again) gain weight. HELP! ALWAYS HUNGRY shows us how to break out of this cycle that is keeping us overweight. It helps us to: - re-programme our fat cells - tame humger - boost our metabolism - lose weight In a clear, compassionate, and authoritative voice, Dr Ludwig debunks the calorie myth that losing weight is simply a matter of eating less. He explains the science and the research behind our epidemic of overweightness and presents a detailed, highly structured plan to help us conquer the cravings.



A Forger s Tale

A Forger s Tale Author Shaun Greenhalgh
ISBN-10 9781925575200
Release 2017-06-01
Pages
Download Link Click Here

In 2007, Bolton Crown Court sentenced Shaun Greenhalgh to four years and eight months in prison for the crime of producing artistic forgeries. Working out of a shed in his parents' garden, Greenhalgh had successfully fooled some of the world's greatest museums. During the court case, the breadth of his forgeries shocked the art world and tantalised the media. What no one realised was how much more of the story there was to tell. Written in prison, A Forger's Tale details Shaun's notorious career and the extraordinary circumstances that led to it. From Leonardo drawings to L.S. Lowry paintings, from busts of American presidents to Anglo-Saxon brooches, from cutting-edge Modernism to the ancient art of the Stone Age, Greenhalgh could - and did - copy it all. Told with great wit and charm, this is the definitive account of Britain's most successful and infamous forger, a man whose love for art saturates every page of this extraordinary memoir.



Trump Never Give Up

Trump Never Give Up Author Donald J. Trump
ISBN-10 9781118045336
Release 2010-12-29
Pages 208
Download Link Click Here

In Never Give Up, Donald Trump tells the dramatic stories of his biggest challenges, lowest moments, and worst mistakes—and how he uses tenacity and creativity to turn defeat into victory. Each chapter includes an inspiring story from Trump’s career and concludes with expert commentary and coaching from adversity researcher and author Paul Stoltz. Inspirational and intelligent, Never Give Up will help you deal with your own personal challenges, failures, and weaknesses.



One Nation

One Nation Author Ben Carson, M.D.
ISBN-10 9780698153073
Release 2014-05-20
Pages 256
Download Link Click Here

Dear Reader, In February 2013 I gave a speech at the National Prayer Breakfast. Standing a few feet from President Obama, I warned my fellow citizens of the dangers facing our country and called for a return to the principles that made America great. Many Americans heard and responded, but our nation’s decline has continued. Today the danger is greater than ever before, and I have never shared a more urgent message than I do now. Our growing debt and deteriorating morals have driven us far from the founders’ intent. We’ve made very little progress in basic education. Obamacare threatens our health, liberty, and financial future. Media elitism and political correctness are out of control. Worst of all, we seem to have lost our ability to discuss important issues calmly and respectfully regardless of party affiliation or other differences. As a doctor rather than a politician, I care about what works, not whether someone has an (R) or a (D) after his or her name. We have to come together to solve our problems. Knowing that the future of my grandchildren is in jeopardy because of reckless spending, godless government, and mean-spirited attempts to silence critics left me no choice but to write this book. I have endeavored to propose a road out of our decline, appealing to every American’s decency and common sense. If each of us sits back and expects someone else to take action, it will soon be too late. But with your help, I firmly believe that America may once again be “one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.” Sincerely, Ben Carson



Killing Patton

Killing Patton Author Bill O'Reilly
ISBN-10 9780805096699
Release 2014-09-23
Pages 368
Download Link Click Here

Readers around the world have thrilled to Killing Lincoln, Killing Kennedy, and Killing Jesus--riveting works of nonfiction that journey into the heart of the most famous murders in history. Now from Bill O'Reilly, anchor of The O'Reilly Factor, comes the most epic book of all in this multimillion-selling series: Killing Patton. General George S. Patton, Jr. died under mysterious circumstances in the months following the end of World War II. For almost seventy years, there has been suspicion that his death was not an accident--and may very well have been an act of assassination. Killing Patton takes readers inside the final year of the war and recounts the events surrounding Patton's tragic demise, naming names of the many powerful individuals who wanted him silenced.



Cinnamon and Gunpowder

Cinnamon and Gunpowder Author Eli Brown
ISBN-10 1250050189
Release 2014-06-03
Pages 336
Download Link Click Here

The year is 1819, and the renowned chef Owen Wedgwood has been kidnapped by a beautiful yet ruthless pirate. He will be spared, Mad Hannah Mabbot tells him, as long as he can conjure an exquisite meal every Sunday from the ship's meager supplies. While Wedgwood attempts to satisfy his captor with feats such as tea-smoked eel and pineapple-banana cider, he realizes that Mabbot herself is under siege. Hunted by a deadly privateer and plagued by a saboteur, she pushes her crew past exhaustion in her search for the notorious Brass Fox. But there is a method to Mabbot's madness, and as the Flying Rose races across the ocean, Wedgwood learns to rely on the bizarre crew members he once feared: a formidable giant who loves to knit; a pair of stoic martial arts masters, sworn to defend their captain; and the ship's deaf cabin boy, who becomes the son he never had. An anarchic tale of love and appetite, Eli Brown's Cinnamon and Gunpowder is a wildly original feat of the imagination, deep and startling as the sea itself.